Katelyn Benzing, Elena Rolfs honored as Governor Scholars for Waukon and Kee

Katelyn Benzing ...

Elena Rolfs ...

Iowa’s top academic students have been chosen for the 2020 Governor’s Scholar Program. The Governor’s Office, the Iowa High School Athletic Association (IHSAA), and its title sponsor, the Iowa Farm Bureau, are presenting this recognition which began in 2003.

Among those honorees was a pair of local students. Katelyn Benzing, daughter of Brad and Becky Benzing of Harpers Ferry received the honor for Waukon High School. Elena Rolfs, daughter of Walter and Carla Rolfs of Lansing, was named Kee High School’s recipient.

The 425 seniors being honored were selected by their high schools as the highest academic achievers. All students received a recognition plaque and certificate to commemorate their achievement sent to their home address. The in-person ceremony for this year was canceled due to COVID-19 and the ongoing guidelines concerning public gatherings. Student honorees have been announced via news release, social media and the IHSAA website.

“Iowa has a proud history of educational excellence, and this year’s honorees are a product of that tradition,” said Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds in a letter to the students. “You are a role model for your community and all students across the state. In these unprecedented times, it is your generation who will lead us into new opportunities in science, technology, agriculture, education and business in the coming years.”

In addition to being recognized as the state’s brightest students, more than 99 percent of the group participates in school activities. More than 60 percent plan to pursue their post-secondary education in Iowa.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet