G. Wyatt Schultz of “The Predicament” among those to be inducted into Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame April 11

Four outstanding individuals who’ve contributed mightily to the sport of wrestling will be inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame (IWHOF) in Cresco Monday, April 11. The 51st Annual Awards Banquet and Induction Ceremony will begin with a 5:30 p.m. social hour followed by a 6:30 p.m. banquet at the Cresco Country Club south of Cresco.

After a two-year pause due to the pandemic, the Hall of Fame is excited to honor these individuals and also deeply saddened as new inductee Wyatt Schultz passed away August 21, 2021. Schultz, greatly missed by the wrestling community, will be honored, along with his friends and family.

The list of this year’s Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame inductees includes the following:

• Tom Hogan - Gilbertville Don Bosco, UNI, Wartburg: A three-time State medalist, State Champion, three-time NCAA D3 All-American, D3 NCAA Champion, renowned high school coach.
• Col. Thomas L. Huff, USAF DC Ret. - Waterloo West, University of Iowa: Three-time State Champion, two-time Big Ten Champion, two-time NCAA All-American, multiple U.S. Armed Services championships, two-time final Olympic Trials place winner.
• G. Wyatt Schultz - Postville, Cedar Rapids: Owner and publisher of “The Predicament” and sports photographer whose work has appeared in “Wrestling USA”, “USA Wrestler”, “Wrestling Insider Newsmagazine” and “Sports Illustrated”.
• Chad Zaputil - Centerville, University of Iowa: four-time State entrant, two-time State Champion, three-time Big 10 Conference Champion, three-time NCAA Tournament finalist.

Banquet tickets are available at the Cresco Chamber of Commerce (563-547-3434) or CIA Insurance in Cresco (563-547-2382). Advance registration are required.

The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame’s sole purpose is the promotion of amateur wrestling in Iowa. The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame has a rich history of honoring native Iowans at its annual awards banquet and induction ceremony. The inaugural banquet was held in 1970. When the 51st annual awards banquet is concluded April 11, the roster of inductees will include 137 outstanding individuals for their contributions to amateur wrestling.

Visit the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame website at http://www.iowawrestlinghalloffame.com/ for additional information. The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame is located in the Cresco Welcome Center at the intersection of Highway 9 and Elm Street. The Hall of Fame is open 9 a.m.-5 p.m. daily.