Allamakee County voters to head to the polls June 4 for 2024 Primary Election

Tuesday, June 4 will be the Primary Election to determine which candidates will be representing their respective political parties in the 2024 General Election in November. An election notice listing the respective races in each of the Republican, Democratic and Libertarian parties is published on Page 22 of this week’s edition of this newspaper, listing races at the Federal, State and County levels of government for voters to make their selections in, along with additional ballot and election information.

In-person absentee voting for this year’s Primary Election began May 15 and lasts through June 3 in the Auditor’s Office at the Allamakee County Courthouse in Waukon from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Monday through Friday each week until that June 3 date. The Auditor’s Office will also be open 7 a.m.-3 p.m. this Saturday, June 1 for in-person absentee voting.

Polling locations for the June 4 Primary Election Day will be open from 7 a.m.-8 p.m. The usual 10 voting precinct locations in Allamakee County will be used once again for this year’s Primary Election. To see more information on those locations and the area they entail for voters, visit

In this year’s Primary Election, the only contested races with more than one candidate lie on the Republican Party ballot, where two such races exist. Otherwise, the Democratic Party ballot has just one overall candidate listed within this year’s six offices on the ballot, that being Sarah Corkery running unopposed for the Democratic nomination for Iowa’s District 2 seat in the U.S. House of Representatives. The local Libertarian Party ballot does not have a single candidate listed on it for any of the offices that are included in the June 4 Primary Election.

The two races where multiple candidates are vying for their respective nomination on this year’s Republican Primary ballot involve the more local race for Allamakee County Sheriff between incumbent Clark Mellick, who is seeking his fourth term in that office, and challenger Paul Wagner, who currently serves as Police Chief for the City of Waukon. Otherwise, two other County-level races include just a single Republican candidate listed in each for this year’s Primary Election, with incumbent Denise Beyer running unopposed in her bid for re-election to the office of Allamakee County Auditor, and Tom Clark running unopposed for the Allamakee County Board of Supervisors seat being vacated by Mark Reiser, who is not seeking re-election to that seat in this year’s election.

The only other contested race in this year’s Primary Election for Allamakee County voters is at the State level of government, where Jason Gearhart of Strawberry Point and Doug Wolfe of Elkader are vying for the Republication nomination for the District 64 seat in the Iowa House of Representatives being vacated by Anne Osmundson, who also is not seeking re-election this year. In the other State-level race on this year’s Primary ballots for Allamakee County voters, incumbent Mike Klimesh is seeking the Republican nomination to return to his District 32 seat in the Iowa Senate.

There are no contested races at the Federal level of government for Allamakee voters on this year’s Primary ballots, with only Iowa’s District 2 seat in the U.S. House of Representatives being on this year’s ballot. As previously mentioned, Sarah Corkery is listed on the Democratic Party ballot for that seat - again, the only Democratic candidate at all listed on the local ballot. Incumbent District 2 U.S. Representative Ashley Hinson is also running unopposed for the Republican nomination in this year’s Primary to try and retain her current seat as Iowa’s District 2 Representative.

For the Primary Election, voters must declare themselves either as Republican, Democrat or Libertarian in order to be able to vote in the election. For additional information about the June 4 Primary Election, visit the Allamakee County Election website at, reference the weekly series of “Election 101” articles being printed in this same newspaper since its April 24 edition, or call the Allamakee County Auditor’s Office at 563-568-3522.