No declared winner in Waukon Mayor race; Hatlan wins Third Ward Council seat

Voting results from the Tuesday, November 7 City Election reveal a new councilman for Waukon's Third Ward, but no candidate in the five-person race for Waukon Mayor could be declared the winner of that office, as none of the five candidates received a majority vote of at least 50% of the vote total plus one more. In such a case, the top two vote-getters advance on to a run-off election, which, according to the Allamakee County Auditor's Office, will be scheduled for Tuesday, December 5.

In the unofficial results released shortly after polls closed Tuesday night, Dwight Jones received the most votes of the five mayoral candidates - 259 votes (35.24%), with Pat Stone next in line with 169 votes (22.99%). Those two top vote-getters, Jones and Stone, will now face off in that December 5 run-off election. Other candidate vote totals in that mayoral race are as follows: Darryl Brink - 120 votes (16.33%), Steve Wiedner - 111 votes (15.10%) and Rick Herman - 73 votes (9.93%).

In that Third Ward City Council race, there was a declared winner, with challenger Arvid Hatlan receiving a majority of that vote with 141 votes (54.86%). Incumbent candidate Don Steffens received 66 votes (25.68%), with the race's other challenger, Kevin Welsh, receiving 50 votes (19.46%).

In the only other contested race in Allamakee County between declared candidates, Harpers Ferry voters did select a new mayor. According to Tuesday's initial unofficial results, Richard Smrcina received 94 votes (77.05%) and Don Gibson received 26 votes (21.31%), giving Smrcina the mayoral seat.

Official results are expected to be canvassed by the Allamakee County Board of Supervisors later this week. Full coverage of all results from the Tuesday, November 7 City Election will appear in the November 15 edition of The Standard. You can subscribe to The Standard's print edition or e-edition by clicking here.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet