Waukon bowling teams return a combined 10 letterwinners for their 2017-2018 campaign to help build on a successful first season

2017-2018 Waukon girls bowling team ... Left to right - Front row: Emma Roe, Megan O’Neill. Back row: Madi Palmer, Taylor Peterson, Sophie Halverson, Allie Sletten. Not pictured: Leslie Halverson.

2017-2018 Waukon boys bowling team ... Photo at left - Left to right: Denzel Decker and Dalton Brookins. Photo below - Left to right: Front row - Clayton Wacker, Zech Brink, Matt Rozzell, Nathan Liddiard, Derrick Wiemerslage, Teddy Holthaus. Back row: Bren Regan, Noah Schellsmidt, Ryan VanderVelden, Jorden Orr, Logan Van Ruler, Lane Grotegut, Owen Halverson.

Coming off an inaugural season last winter of learning for both coaching staff and student-athlete performer, the Waukon bowling program looks to build on the foundation laid during that 2016-2017 initial campaign in its second season this winter. Helping that cause will be a total of 10 letterwinners returning with their first-year experience, including a trio of veterans coming back from a girls squad that posted a 4-5 season record and more than twice that many letterwinners, seven, from a boys crew that finished with a 3-6 mark last winter.

“Last year was a learning experience with everything being new,” Waukon bowling coach Jerry Keenan said. “It definitely makes preparing for this season less stressful. Knowing how competitions are run, the different types of tournaments, etc. The fact that we have a season under our belt and that last year we learned a lot should be a strong point for us this season. We have a great group of young people who will work hard to get better.”

The Indians were scheduled to get their 2017-2018 campaign underway Tuesday, November 21 at Waverly-Shell Rock before bowling December 1 at Tripoli. The Indians will then begin their home schedule December 8 against North Iowa.

For more complete coverage, pick up this week's print edition or subscribe to our e-edition by clicking here.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet