Seven returning letterwinners make up half of 2017-2018 Waukon boys basketball team

2017-2018 Waukon boys basketball returning letterwinners ... Left to right - Front row: Colin Waters, Abe Schwartz, Mitchell Snitker. Back row: Michael Sweeney, Ethan Krueger, Evan Armstead, Isaiah Welch.

2017-2018 Waukon boys basketball team ... Left to right - Front row: Michael Headington, Baldemar Villarreal, Colin Waters, Mitchell Snitker, Terrell Baumler, Pryce Hesse, Emilio Rathbun. Back row: Michael Sweeney, Abe Schwartz, Ethan Krueger, Evan Armstead, Garrett Garin, Brady Sullivan, Isaiah Welch. Not pictured: Brayden Mulholland.

The 2017-2018 Waukon boys basketball season will feature a team with half of its roster listed as returning letterwinners from a 6-15 season last winter. An even greater portion of this season’s early roster of 15 players also recently made school history by playing to Waukon High School’s first-ever state football championship, a gridiron team also under the offensive guidance of Waukon boys basketball coach Jed Hemann, who sees much more of the sweet side of whatever bittersweet aspects stem from a football season extending into the start of the basketball season.

The Indians had their season-opening game with Postville moved back a few days due to Waukon’s extended football season, but the Indians got their season off to a victorious start, 74-48, at Postville Thursday, November 30. The basketball Tribe was scheduled to host Sumner-Fredericksburg Monday, December 4 before opening up its NEIC season at home Friday, December 8 when Oelwein comes to town. The Indians will then take to the NEIC road with games at Crestwood, Tuesday, December 12, and at Waverly-Shell Rock, Friday, December 15.

For more complete coverage, pick up this week's print edition or subscribe to our e-edition by clicking here.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet